Characteristically Speaking: What does THAT mean?

Posted on Updated on

faceThis is my first blog post here on “Characteristically Speaking.” And so, you may wonder about the name. As I considered names, I read many articles that talked about the best ways to name a blog. If you know me, you know I do my research. Some suggested using your name in a playful way. Other suggested teaming up words that represent your interests. Other just said to be creative. So, all that considered, I thought about why I’m even starting a blog. You can read more about that under the “About” section of this site. But about the name: Have you ever heard the saying, “He’s/She’s quite a character!” That was my inspiration.

As a writer, the characters I develop live with me. From the time they are “born,” until well after a book breathes life on a shelf (virtual or otherwise), the characters I create become a part of me. I hear their voices (I know it sounds crazy) and I consider my decisions based on what they would do. And while my characters appear in works of fiction, all of them have pieces of real people in them. The most interesting characters, in my opinion, are those who are complex, who don’t fall into a mold, and who surprise us (sometimes even me). Every interaction I have with people has the potential to help me build a character. And so, this blog will reflect on the characters I meet … and the characters I create. I hope you find them as entertaining, as lovable, as shocking, and as grotesque as I do. I look forward to hearing from you. Your input and reactions may just shape the next main character!

One thought on “Characteristically Speaking: What does THAT mean?

    DAW said:
    November 22, 2013 at 12:40 am

    WOW! A very good start. I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

