A Man and His Dog

Posted on Updated on

ImageSitting at a traffic light this morning, I glanced over a lane to notice a big blue pickup truck rumbling next to me. A rugged looking, bald-headed man sat in the driver’s seat. He wore dark black sunglasses that matched a tight t-shirt. His muscular arms were stretched out over the steering wheel as he waited for the light to change. This guy, I thought, bad ass.

My initial impression of the driver was soon reinforced when I saw, seated next to him, a full grown German Shepherd. Her ears formed perfect points and she stared ahead, almost at full alert. “Just mess with us,” she seemed to say.

I thought about my own position at the stop light. Buckled into my comfy SUV, my back seat was covered in the short hair of two pugs. Hardly intimidating, I thought.

I have always been one to wonder about the lives of other people. I find myself driving through big cities, amazed at the tall apartment buildings. My intrigue lies in the people inside those buildings. What are their stories? Where do they come from? What occupies their time? What do they worry about? What makes us different? What makes us the same?

The answer to my last question came this morning. As I sat staring at this mysterious man and his dog, something happened that connected us. Most unexpectedly, the man said something to the dog and puckered his lips at her. Without hesitation, she lifted her rear end off the seat and moved her head toward him. With the swoop of her tongue, she licked the man’s face. And as he positioned his arm around her, she licked him again. And he smiled.

We all have something in common. Leave it to a dog to point it out.

4 thoughts on “A Man and His Dog

    click here said:
    April 30, 2014 at 5:49 pm

    Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss
    and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my readers would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to
    shoot me an email.

      jablake1212 responded:
      May 1, 2014 at 10:30 am

      Thank you for reading my blog and for your comments. Can you please send me a link to your blog so I can take a look? Thanks!

    Diane said:
    April 24, 2014 at 4:17 pm

    The smallest observations are often the most insightful, I think.

      jablake1212 responded:
      April 24, 2014 at 4:23 pm

      So true. We just have to watch for them!

Leave a Reply

